Odisha: Only state to have all three species of crocodiles.

22 June 2021.


Odisha has become the only state in India to have all the three species of crocodiles.


  • Three species in the state of Odisha are:
  • Reptile freshwater Gharials at Satkosia in Mahanadi,
  • Muggers
  • Saltwater crocodiles.
  • Odisha has witnessed natural nesting of Gharials (a critically endangered species) for the first time since they were introduced in its rivers in 1975.
  • About 28 hatchlings of Gharials were spotted in Mahanadi River in Baladamara area near Satkosia range.
  • Muggers are found in Bhitarkanika National Park.

Gharials in Odisha

  • Original Gharials which were introduced in Odisha are dead now.
  •  After waiting for 40 years for their numbers to grow naturally, Odisha introduced 13 more Gharials in past three years in the Mahanadi.
  • But only eight survived.

About Gharial

  • Gharials, also known as gavial or fish-eating crocodile, are crocodilian of family Gavialidae.
  • They are among longest of all living crocodilians.
  •  They have been named gharial because of a distinct boss at the end of snout, which resembles an earthenware pot called ghara.
  •  Gharials are well adapted to catching fish because of its long, thin snout and 110 sharp & interlocking teeth.
  • They have been listed as critically endangered in IUCN Red List since 2007.

Posted by

Author and Educator

Leave a Reply