Assam Floods: 108 animals die in Kaziranga National Park.

20 July 2020.

Assam floods take a toll on inhabitants of Kaziranga National Park!


According to announcement made by the State Govt. of Assam, as many as 108 animals have died in the Kaziranga National Park in the recent floods.


  • According to a bulletin issued by park authorities nearly 85% area of the park, spread over 430 sq km is under water at present.
  • Forty three of the 223 forest camps inside the park are inundated of which 6 have been vacated.
  • Till now, 60 animals (36 hog deer, eight rhinos, three wild buffalo, one python, seven wild boar, two swamp deer, one Sambar and two porcupines) have died due to drowning.
  • Fifteen hog deer have died after getting hit by vehicles on national highway 37 close to the park, while trying to cross it to escape flood waters.

 Relief Measures:

  • PM Modi has sanctioned Rs 2 lakh to the next kin of persons who lost their lives in the floods from the Prime Minister’s Relief Fund.
  • The State Govt is providing Rs. 4 lakh to the next of kin flood victims.
  • In total,134 animals have been rescued. Of them, 110 have been released into the wild, while 8 others including a one-year-old female rhino calf are under treatment at CWRC.- Centre for Wildlife Rehabilitation and Conservation.

About Kaziranga National Park :

  • Kaziranga National Park is a protected area in the northeast Indian state of Assam.
  • It is spread across the floodplains of the Brahmaputra River, its forests, wetlands and grasslands are home to tigers, elephants and the world’s largest population of Indian one-horned rhinoceroses.
  •  Ganges River dolphins swim in the park’s waters.
  • It’s visited by many rare migratory birds, and gray pelicans roost near Kaziranga village.
  • It was established in 1905 as a reserved forest.
  • In 1950, it was renamed as  Kaziranga Wildlife Sanctuary.
  • In 1974, it was declared as a National Park.
  • In 1985, the UNESCO declared the park as UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • In 2006  it was declared as Tiger Reserve.

About One Horned Rhino:

  • The one-horned rhino is the largest of the three Asian Rhinos- the Sumatran and Javan Rhinos.
  • India has entered into collaboration with four countries to protect Asian Rhinos and these are Nepal, Bhutan,Indonesia and  Malaysia.
  • The New Delhi Declarartion on Asian Rhinos 2019 was signed by these countries to conserve rhinos.
  • A Special Rhino Protection Force was set up  in 2015 to control poaching of rhinos

Posted by

Author and Educator

Leave a Reply